September Haul + Mini Reviews

Hello lovelies! I had mentioned in a previous post that I’d thought of doing a haul entry for the stuff I bought last month and earlier this October, and finally here it is, yay! I decided to write separate entries for my September and October purchases just so this post wouldn’t be too long.

Let’s start with lipstick. You know I love lipsticks.

Ever Bilena Matte Lipstick in Off Beat Pink

Ever Bilena Matte Lipstick in Off Beat Pink. I was shopping at Watson’s for personal care items and the whole time, I kept on thinking if I should or should not buy a new lippie considering the fact that I already have a lot of them. I can be an impulsive buyer sometimes, so even if I had second thoughts, at the end of the day I still bought this. I actually own a couple of Ever Bilena matte lipsticks (in Love That Red and Skin), then I thought I’d get a matte pink that’s (1.) not too loud and (2.) suitable for work. I like the dainty pinkness of this lippie, and it’s very affordable at PhP 155. Only when I got home did I realize that I already have a matte pink lipstick in a very similar shade — NYX Matte Lipstick in Audrey. I also found this rather dry, hence a bit difficult to apply if I don’t have lip balm on. There are a few quality issues, too: The clear cap thing on the tube’s cover easily comes off; the lipstick doesn’t hold up well and easily sinks back into its container when I press it onto my lips. :/ Yay for color but nay for packaging.

LA Girl Pro Conceal High Definition Concealer in Nude

LA Girl Pro Conceal HD Concealer in Nude. So here’s what happened that led to my search for a concealer. While I was trying to open my old LA Colors concealer, the tube broke. 😦 It really saddened me since it was the best concealer I’ve tried so far. It didn’t really smell pretty but it provided really good coverage for my dark circles and blemishes. (I transferred what was left of it in a tiny plastic jar.) It was given by an aunt who resides in the US. LA Colors isn’t available locally so I looked for a replacement. The SA at SM City Department Store recommended me this. She did a swatch on me and since it blended well with my skin tone, I grabbed one. It cost me more than PhP 300. So I tried it out, used it as my everyday concealer, and I was disappointed. Its concealing power wasn’t as good as my old one. I actually wore this to work one day, and surprisingly a male colleague asked me if I didn’t get any sleep ‘coz my eyes looked tired. >.< Apparently my dark circles were still visible. Maybe it just wasn’t suitable with my skin type so it didn’t fare well on me. I gave it to my sister. I have oily skin while she has dry skin, so who knows, it might work better on her.

Maybelline Blush Studio Cheeky Glow Ultra-Blendable Blush in Cream Cinnamon

Human ♥ Nature Mineral Blush in Tropical Rose

Maybelline Cheeky Glow Ultra-Blendable Blush in Cream Cinnamon. Again, there’s a reason why I set out looking for a new warm-toned blush, and again it’s because my favorite one got broken. I was doing my makeup one day when I accidentally dropped my Human Heart Nature Mineral Blush (in Tropical Rose) and it got shattered into tiny bits of powder. Boohoo. 😦 So when I saw this at Watson’s I grabbed it. It was gonna be the replacement for my broken blush, and I figured it was time to try Maybelline’s new products. It’s the same warm, peachy/bronze-ish shade as Tropical Rose. This Cheeky Glow blush is pigmented yet buildable upon application, without being too sheer unlike Human Heart Nature’s mineral blushes. It’s perfect for a lovely sun-kissed look and I think it’ll suit most Filipina women’s skin tones. If you like a more “natural” look, or if you have a medium/tan/morena complexion, you’ll love this blush. And you might also want to try Human Heart Nature’s Tropical Rose blush. The Cheeky Glow blushes cost only PhP 199 each and come in 4 shades: Fresh Coral, Wooden Rose, Peachy Sweetie, and Cream Cinnamon.

Human Heart Nature Mineral Powder in Island Shell, Mineral Blush in Rosy Cheeks, and Sunflower Beauty Oil. Human Heart Nature is actually a social enterprise advocacy of Gawad Kalinga through Gandang Kalikasan. I just love the brand’s earth-friendliness and skin-friendliness with their organic beauty and skin care products. It’s pro-Philippines and pro-poor too — the raw materials used to create their products are grown in the Philippines and you actually get to help Filipino farmers by supporting a social enterprise that empowers the local farming industry. Anyway, I ordered these items from a colleague and loved that it was shipped in a pretty brown box.

Human Heart Nature Mineral Powder in Island Shell, Mineral Blush in Rosy Cheeks, and Sunflower Beauty Oil

I was immediately impressed with the mineral pressed powder. The shade Island Shell matches my skin tone so well that I don’t even have to powder my neck when I use it. Thumbs up for that. I love how silky my face feels and how shine free it looks after I’ve applied it (using a fluffy brush). I find myself having to retouch in the middle of the day though, fairly due to my skin type that tends to oil up after several hours. Nevertheless, it just takes a few swipes of this powder to get rid of the shine and I get to look fresh again. This mineral powder costs PhP 295, and comes in 4 shades: Orient Pearl for light skin, Island Shell for fair complexion, Sand Dollar for medium tones and Boracay Bronze for morenas.

Human Heart Nature Mineral Blush in Rosy Cheeks

On to the blush. I know it appears a bit dark in the above photo, probably due to lighting and perspective differences, but Rosy Cheeks is actually a cool-toned pink (see photo at the right ->). I think this is the lightest pink shade, which is a bit too light for my beige skin tone (Tropical Rose fared better on me.) What I love about Human ♥ Nature’s makeup line is that it’s free of shimmer. I do not like blush that shimmers — my face is already oily so I really don’t think I need to add any more shine to it. Anyway, this blush feels very light and is easy to blend, but has a very sheer finish so it does take several swipes to make the product appear on my face. And when it does become visible it’s still too sheer. That’s because it’s organic — it’s manufactured with natural colorants such as mineral iron oxides so it’s not as pigmented as other blushes. The brand stays away from using regular dyes in their formulation. I like how it gives a very natural-looking flush. This is the blush that’s inside my “portable” kikay kit (you know, the one I carry inside my purse everyday). It’s even good enough to wear with your everyday light makeup if you prefer a natural look. I would recommend this if you want to wear blush that’s not too overpowering. It sells for PhP 195, and comes in 4 shades: Rosy Cheeks, Pink Quartz, Petal Bloom and Tropical Rose.

Well, I have yet to see how effective the sunflower beauty oil will be, but I have read really good reviews about it and people have been raving about it as a miracle in a bottle. I’m using it for dark spots here and there. I do find it a bit messy, though, since it’s oil. But then, sunflower oil is a well-known ingredient in a lot of beautifying products so why not try it in its pure form? It will surely take a long time before I consume all of it, since there is a lot of product in its pump bottle and I need only use 1-2 drops. The Sunflower Beauty Oil from Human ♥ Nature is only PhP 129.75 for a 50 ml bottle and PhP 249.75 for 100 ml.

6 responses to “September Haul + Mini Reviews

  1. I feel that is among the such a lot vital information for me. And i’m satisfied reading your article. But wanna statement on few basic things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is actually excellent : D. Excellent task, cheers

  2. Pingback: October Haul + Mini Reviews | Love Letters in Lipstick·

  3. Pingback: October Haul + Mini Reviews : Flightless Angel·

Leave a Reply

